Fellowships for digital talents and change experts

Digitalization is at the tip of everybody's tongue. We are the ones who are shaping it. And we are cresting this wave together with you: at eye level, with potent methods, project-based and application-oriented. Since 2018 we have been bringing people together who are gung ho about change and want to help shape digitalisation of the public administration through our fellowships Tech4Germany and Work4Germany. So we can usher in the digital state.

Tech4Germany leverages the advantages of modern product development in concrete digital projects. To this end, we bring together talented individuals and experts from the fields of product, design and engineering with digitization blackbelts from federal agencies for three months.

Employing the methods of user research and prototyping, teams generate new insights right from week 1, developing digital prototypes that take on the challenges of federal ministries and agencies with user- centred approaches. Our hard-hitting teams work to boost the capability of the public administration to ensure solid digital product development.

With this as our guiding beacon, we select digital projects and put together go-getting project teams from federal ministries and agencies each year, recruiting committed fellows from the fields of product, design and engineering.

Learn more (German)

Work4Germany brings together methodical transformation experts from the private sector with pioneers from the federal ministries. They work in tandem on projects with a digital focus for six months, identifying potential for change and creating the conditions needed to realise it. They apply agile methods and user-centred working methods and adapt these to the administrative context. Methods are at the same time conceived as tools - even beyond the Fellowship itself. This opens up new latitude for action and design while generating very concrete benefits for managers, teams and projects. This is how Work4Germany is driving modernisation of the public administration from within.

Every year, we look for transformation experts and intrepid individuals from federal ministries with a digital DNA who want to rethink processes and work with agile methods.

Learn more (German)

Components of both Fellowships

Deep dives: supporting learning units

What sets a learning organization apart? What are resilience and leadership all about? How does appreciative feedback work? These are important questions for the work and leadership culture of tomorrow. Our deep dives are Fellowship fixtures and support everyone participating in Tech4Germany and Work4Germany. Here, everything revolves around future competencies in the digital context.

Whether it be agile product management, user-centricity or effective communication: You will find creative, thought-provoking impetus, workshops, case studies from other ministries and much more - but rest assured that there is one thing you will definitely not see here: "old school" frontal teaching. We are modular, we are interactive and we are application-oriented: Together with you, we want to create a citizen-oriented, modern public administration. Let's dive deep.

Fellowship community

Exchange and shared learning does not end with the completion of our fellowship programes. We support program alumni over the long term by offering them opportunities for cross-departmental networking.

Learning from each other and sharing experiences: In this atmosphere of trust and confidence, we thrive on togetherness. This is because all units in the public administration face similar challenges and are exposed to the same pressure to change. Through practical exchange and networking activities, we create a space in which you can strengthen each other, learn together, share knowledge and realise synergies.

Here is something for all pioneers who want to actively help promote change in the public administration.

Learn more (German)
Imprint Data Protection

Fellowships für methodenstarke Macher:innen

Alle reden von Digitalisierung. Wir gestalten sie. Und das mit Euch gemeinsam: auf Augenhöhe, methodenstark, projektbasiert und anwendungsorientiert. Mit unseren Fellowships Tech4Germany und Work4Germany bringen wir seit 2018 Menschen zusammen, die sich für Veränderung begeistern und die Digitalisierung der Verwaltung mitgestalten wollen. Für einen digitalen Staat.

Tech4Germany Foto Post-its

Tech4Germany macht die Vorteile moderner Produktentwicklung in konkreten Digitalvorhaben erlebbar. Dafür bringen wir Talente und Expert:innen aus den Bereichen Produkt, Design und Engineering für drei Monate mit Digitalisierungsmacher:innen aus Bundesbehörden zusammen. 

Durch User-Research und Prototyping schaffen die Teams von Woche 1 an neue Erkenntnisse und entwickeln digitale Prototypen, die Herausforderungen der Bundesministerien und -behörden mit nutzerzentrierten Lösungsansätzen adressieren. Gemeinsam stärken wir so die Kompetenz der Verwaltung für gute digitale Produktentwicklung. 

Dafür wählen wir jedes Jahr Digitalvorhaben und motivierte Projektteams aus Bundesministerien und -behörden aus und rekrutieren engagierte Fellows aus den Bereichen Produkt, Design und Engineering. 

Mehr erfahren

Work4Germany bringt methodenstarke Transformations-Expert:innen aus der Privatwirtschaft mit Vorreiter:innen der Bundesministerien zusammen. Als Tandem arbeiten sie über sechs Monate an Projekten mit Digitalbezug. Sie identifizieren Potenziale für Veränderung und schaffen Voraussetzungen, um diese zu realisieren. Sie nutzen agile Methoden und nutzerzentrierte Arbeitsweisen und passen sie an den Verwaltungskontext an. Methoden werden dabei als Werkzeuge verstanden – auch über das Fellowship hinaus. Das eröffnet neue Handlungs- und Gestaltungsspielräume und schafft ganz konkreten Nutzen für Führungskräfte, Teams und Projekte. So treiben wir mit Work4Germany die Modernisierung der Verwaltung von innen heraus voran. 

Hierfür suchen wir jedes Jahr Transformations-Expert:innen sowie Vorreiter:innen aus Bundesministerien mit Projekten mit Digitalbezug, die Lust haben, Prozesse neu zu denken und mit agilen Methoden arbeiten wollen.

Mehr erfahren

Bestandteile beider Fellowships

Deep Dives: be­gleitende Lern­einheiten

Was zeichnet eine lernende Organisation aus? Was sind Resilienz und Leadership? Wie geht wertschätzendes Feedback? Wichtige Fragen für die Arbeits- und Führungskultur von morgen. Unsere Deep Dives finden während der Fellowships statt und unterstützen alle, die an Tech4Germany und Work4Germany teilnehmen. Hier dreht sich alles um Zukunftskompetenzen im digitalen Kontext.

Ob agiles Produktmanagement, Nutzerzentrierung oder effektive Kommunikation: Bei uns findet Ihr kreative Denkanstöße, Workshops, Fallbeispiele aus anderen Ministerien und vieles mehr - aber garantiert keinen Frontalunterricht. Modular, interaktiv & anwendungsorientiert: Wir wollen gemeinsam mit Euch eine bürgernahe, moderne Verwaltung schaffen. Let’s dive.

Fellowship Community

Der Austausch und das gemeinsame Lernen endet nicht mit dem Abschluss unserer Fellowship-Programme. Wir begleiten die Alumni der Programme nachhaltig und bieten Euch die Möglichkeit zur ressortübergreifenden Vernetzung.

Voneinander lernen & Erfahrungen teilen: In vertrauensvoller Atmosphäre wird das WIR groß geschrieben. Denn alle Einheiten der öffentlichen Verwaltung stehen vor ähnlichen Herausforderungen und sind dem gleichen Veränderungsdruck ausgesetzt. Durch praxisnahe Austausch- und Vernetzungsaktivitäten schaffen wir einen Raum, in dem Ihr Euch gegenseitig stärken, gemeinsam Lernen, Wissen teilen und Synergien nutzen könnt. 

Für alle Vorreiter:innen, die Veränderung in der Verwaltung aktiv vorantreiben wollen.

Mehr erfahren
Beispielhafte Szene aus den Fellowships 2021: Fellows und Projektpartner:innen kommen für eine Lernsession zusammen.
Arbeitsszene aus den Fellowships: vier Menschen stehen vor einem Laptop und lachen.
Impressum Datenschutz